MVLA > Special Education
 

Welcome to Special Education

Phone (650) 940-4658
Fax (650) 691-2492

 

The Mountain View/Los Altos Union High School District special education staff is dedicated to providing strong support and the very best education for our students. One of our many goals is to improve the performance of students with disabilities and assist in narrowing the achievement gap by ensuring equal access to the curriculum and differentiated instruction in the least restrictive environment (LRE) and enable students to contribute as active participants in our society and the community.

The Mountain View/Los Altos Union High School District serves special education students in high school through age 22 years old who qualify according to the laws and regulations outlined by the state and federal government. A student may qualify for special education services as an individual with special needs in one
of thirteen areas identified by the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA). 

*      Autism                                   

*      Deaf                                       

*      Deaf-Blind

*      Emotionally Disturbed

*      Hard of Hearing                                                             

*      Mentally Retarded

*      Multiple Handicapped

*      Orthopedically Impaired                                 

*      Other Health Impaired

*      Specific Learning Disability

*      Speech-Language Impaired

*      Traumatic Brain Injury

*      Visually Impaired

 

Special Education Team

Kathy Sulaver, Director,
Kathy.Sulaver@mvla.net

Joanna Plymale, Senior Secretary, joanna.plymale@mvla.net
Sherry Rekoon, MVHS Special Education Coordinator,
sherry.rekoon@mvla.net

Elizabeth Latona, LAHS Special Education Coordinator, elizabeth.latona@mvla.net
Kim Henesian, Speech/Language Pathologist, kim.henesian@mvla.net
Madeline Ettin, School Psychologist,
madeline.ettin@mvla.net
John Pennick, School Psychologist,
john.pennick@mvla.net
Shadi Allen, School Psychologist, shadi.allen@mvla.net
Suzanne Mello, Post-Secondary, suzanne.mello@mvla.net
Kim Jackson, Workability,
kim.jackson@mvla.net

 

 
If you have any questions, concerns or suggestions regarding services, please do not hesitate to call us.

 

Respectfully,
Kathy Sulaver
Director of Special Education